will someone please get me OUT of food service? part II

27 Jul

okay. i am totally blessed in completely ungodlike, nonreligious ways. or so i think. how do i know?

condensed backstory: i believe that people believe in whatever higher power makes ideas of life and death safe and comfortable. and those beliefs don’t need to be tampered with by well meaning trespassers.

that said, i don’t join in prayer or say amen when people are praying around me nor does the opportunity arise. i don’t go to church. i moreso believe in the practice of yoga yet still don’t say namaste at the end of class. why. well, because the word translates, “i bow to you”. and i have my hands together like prayer in front of my  heart and i’m already bowing reverently. i’m doing it. why say it…redundant, you know? actions speak louder than words.

and yet, i still think i’m blessed:

three times in my life older, hip, successful, eclectic women have seen my potential, taken action and proposed offers i could not refuse. and to these women, i will forever be grateful. they epitomize the (ironically, biblical) story of teaching how to fish rather than handing out fish. they’ve afforded me opportunities with which i launch out of living or work situations from which my soul is being sucked…usually in its entirety into the vacuum of a parallel universe where parts of it are no doubt being dissected in a laboratory and tested on rats. buuuutttt…i need my soul here for now as i’ve things yet to accomplish.

so i’ve been grumbling for some time now about getting out of the grocery store. wanting to write and be published. employment is slim. i’ve applied for jobs i’m way overqualified for and haven‘t gotten them. like, dog walking. conversely, i’ve applied for jobs i’m a titch underqualified for and understandably haven’t gotten calls for those either.

so when this colorful woman i happen to be friends with from the coffee shop seeks me out at the grocery store while i’m working, hands me her card, offers me a job at her absolutely magical in-home preschool and then tells me that she and a friend are also brainstorming about another creative entrepreneurial venture (which i shall keep under wraps at the moment) and she’d like me to be in on it because I am “artistic and interesting” and she hates seeing me at the grocery store with the life being sucked out me…the freaking opportunity siren sounds and i know i’m blessed.

then when she tells me stories about traveling the world, sometimes with no money but it ends up okay because she’s innovative. and that she has only ever worked for someone else just once in her life but it has always worked out and she has always had plenty. she is following her heart. nurturing her life. she’s officially appealed to my inspired nomad writer heart and i know that being true to my talents and giving back with my actions is the only way i will thrive.

someone will get me out of food service…i think i am leaping off this hobo grocery train!!!

*[p.s. for those of you dying to know, the italiano will be out of the shop by friday!!! can’t wait.]

4 Responses to “will someone please get me OUT of food service? part II”

  1. Chloe July 31, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    This sounds really exciting. I love how sometimes we meet people who are so influential to us (sometimes without even knowing it) and they really see the potenial in us too…

    I look forward to reading how this all turns out for you. The main thing in life is to follow your heart, and if you really believe that you are called to become a published author…then that’s the road you need to strive for continuously in life. If OTHERS can do it…then we can too, right? 😉

    Be blessed my friend!

    Chloe 😀 xx

    • heatherfrendo August 3, 2010 at 12:15 am #

      Chloe! Hi!!! First, thank you for your always kind encouragement! Next, of course we can be published authors! And you, my friend, have been writing up a storm these days! So happy to see you prolific and inspired…~heather

  2. Cara Reynolds August 25, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    It’s true, you can do anything you want, you just need to have some faith, focus, and work for it. Also, if you have a good partner in crime willing to do the same then really there’s no stopping you. :]
    P.S. – See you don’t need Twitter to have real people (not just spammers and sex sites) visit “Thrifty Knee Socks”, you just need to drop a comment on their blog. ;]

    • Heather Frendo August 25, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

      Hi Cara,
      Truer words cannot be spoken. Even if the most magical opportunity falls in your lap, it still takes focus, faith and work to keep it going. Thanks so much for stopping by…and being a real human being and not a spammer or sex site! 🙂 ~Heather

Leave a Reply

