back alley bike doctor…

21 Jul

um, so some bad news. the old french bike is in the ER. i was taking her for a spin to the ymca for some yoga (me, not her. she was going to wait out at the bike racks and have some alone time). i got about two blocks from home when her pedals locked up. i almost flew over the handlebars. it was a real scene. now, i know from the bike shop that she has some issues with a really bent crankset.

you know why?  because someone thought it would be a good idea to use a wood screw in place of the proper bolt that holds everything together down there. and me, now knowing much more about bikes than i did when i bought her, realized it’s possible that my lack of knowledge was…taken advantage of.

oh, and the wood screw? it fell out. her chain was flying everywhere. so the guy i bought her from said if she didn’t work out to give him a call and he’d happily take her back and return my money. i don’t want to give her back. but, i get back home and i call.

he’s kind of a high strung guy…and he sniffs a lot. when i call he says, well let’s make it right! i got hundreds a’ bikes layin’ around this place! surely, there’s a part! sooo, i bring her and leave her there to be repaired.

i was due to pick her up today before work. i’m worried. i feel like i left her with some illegitimate back alley doctor and she’s going to come back all jacked up with jenky soldering, aluminum foil, string, and duct tape…possibly another wood screw.

apparently, the guy i bought her from just got home from several days vacation and planned to fix her this afternoon. i will be at work. so i called him back and requested that we fore go the work and i will take the money. reasoning? if what happened in the daylight with the chain happened at night on the dark part of the trail? no bueno. bike lights and all…no bueno. anyhow, we went round in circles and finally i agreed to pick her up tomorrow with the agreement that if anything else goes wrong i will get my money back, no circuitous debates.

okay, i’m whispering this behind my hand because i feel silly about loving this bike so much but…i really hope he does a good job. i actually miss her. and let me add a disclaimer…i’m not usually so mushy…except about certain things and beings:

(left to right: my dog wes, my cat teka, my bike freya oolong…just to name a few)

4 Responses to “back alley bike doctor…”

  1. gonecycling July 22, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    It’s perfectly OK to miss your bike: I was bereft without The Guv’nor, and I know I’ll pine for my Madone when I’m on holiday. The whippet is coming with us…

    • heatherfrendo July 22, 2010 at 10:36 am #

      oh i love it!!! they’re like friends with actual names and personalities. thank you for making sense out my pining…

  2. gonecycling July 23, 2010 at 2:15 am #

    Off-topic: in a moment of madness I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo. Never done it before. Any tips?

    • heatherfrendo July 23, 2010 at 7:42 am #

      wow, sweeeeeetttt! an accomplice. i too, am a NaNoWriMo newb. but this is what i am doing: reading a lot of everything as it tends to perk up my creativity, having a general idea of what i’d like to write about and sketching out a skeleton, writing down EVERY little idea and observation that crosses my mind, and i plan to write two thousand words per day so i will, in theory, be finished by november 25. most importantly, i’m letting go of expectation that this might be a work of genius…it frees me up to just write. long winded answer…shew, i’m catching my breath! so cool that you will also be writing. all it takes is a moment of madness…

Leave a Reply

