Great Wanderlust of Summer 2010

25 May

Microplan:

(because really planning is overrated)

U.S. Road Trip

Have Bake Sale.  Purchase this freaking sweet 1969 Dodge Sportsman off Craigslist with the $4,500 I make from selling brownies.  And cupcakes.  Stash the rest of the cash overflow from the highly successful bake sale. With the exception of the money I spend to buy a U.S. Map, yellow hi-liter, several composition notebooks, a new surfboard (it must be yellow. or green.), wetsuit, and snacks.

I will then pack a sleeping bag, some clothes, books, laptop, cell phone…

And Wes.

We will then depart just before sunrise.  On a Monday.  So that during morning commute we can sip a strong, delicious cappuccino (from our very favorite, Hardcore Espresso) and talk very seriously into a banana…because we can…and we have nowhere to be, in particular…while other harried commuters speak earnestly into their bluetooths, magically weaving schedules like tightly woven baskets.  And then, before chomping into the banana, Wes and I will spin it to decide which of the four directions to take.  Then travel until Fall when we will make our way home through parts of the country that really have seasons.

And thus begins our adventure.

6 Responses to “Great Wanderlust of Summer 2010”

  1. Kathy May 27, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m so envious……I hope you have a great road trip…think of the rest of us back here, chained to our desks, seeking a ray of sun as it blasts thru a window….ahhhhh….

  2. Caroline Clemmons June 1, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Hmmm, bake sales must do better where you live than where I live. LOL I would like that van. We had one similar but sold it. I’ve missed it ever since, although we have a much nicer car. I loved travel in that van.

    Good luck to you and Wes with your plan.

  3. Marley June 7, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I miss you so much! & the only way for me to see what you’re up to is by reading your blog since i am now living in San Francisco. Keep it up!

    • heatherfrendo July 5, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      Hey Mar!!! So glad you are reading this. I dropped the ball real bad on posting for a bit and there have been tumbleweeds and now you passing through! Yay!

  4. Chloe July 10, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    Wow – this sounds ideal to me! I wish I had that freedom! By the way, your dog is gorgeous! So cute with the sunglasses! lol 🙂 Chloe

    • heatherfrendo July 10, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      hi chloe,
      thanks for reading and leaving comments! ah yes, my dog wes…is quite the charmer. he believes the world and all that’s in it are made to support his fun, lighthearted little being. i too, wish i had the freedom to travel indefinitely. it is my dream and somewhere in my heart i believe that if i write it…it just might happen!!! have a beautiful weekend chloe. ~heather

Leave a Reply

