Stop the Stink Parfait

2 May

Gggrrrrreat…it’s laundry day, my t-shirt pits reek, what do I do?  Oh come on, I know I’m not the only one who has mumbled this to themselves once or twice.  Whether it be the armpits on your body or the armpit fabric on your shirts, some days are a little smellier than others.

I launch into this intimate dialogue because it’s Sunday and the weather is freakin’ sunny, gorgeous, and perfect for outdoor enjoyment.  I dig long walks and I dig sun.  Mix the two and voila, sweat!  Personally, sweat during and after exercise is no big whoop.  But now it’s time to do laundry.  Chances are, if you occasionally have B.O., some of your tops will retain the odor in the fabric so that every time you wear them you’re a stink parfait layered with vintage odors.   This irks me endlessly.  What to do, what to do?

Let’s be real and scientific, sweating is a necessary function to eliminate toxins from our bodies.  While we are marketed antiperspirants and deodorants to counteract sweat and body odor, are we really doing what’s healthiest by choosing them?  And are we eliminating or masking odor?  Moreover, what other way is there?

Rubbing Alcohol. Simple and cheap, rubbing alcohol (also called isopropyl alcohol and commonly used in medical swabs and cosmetics)  is an antibacterial that kills or inhibits growth of bacteria and bacteria is what causes body odor.  It’s almost too easy.  It stops the stink parfait;  no B.O., no fabric bound bacteria.  Not only can rubbing alcohol be applied to underarms, but it can also be used safely on most fabrics before laundering.  If flowery scent is what you desire,  spend the money you save buying rubbing alcohol instead of deodorant, invest in essential oils like lavender or rose and add a few drops to the bottle!  I use it, I dig it, I smell lovely! Questions, comments, results?  I’d love to hear from you!  For more information on rubbing alcohol click  here and if you’re Super Chemist click  here.

(Covet my Microsoft Paint skills?  Check out tomorrow’s post for Day 3 0f Wordcount Blogathon 2010!)

Leave a Reply

