Discipline is an ugly word

1 May

Welcome to Day 1 of Wordcount Blogathon 2010!  I set my alarm last night for 6:45 a.m. with aspirations of awakening fresh, inspired, and an informed pro blogger.  No Prob, I thought, I’ll write on the fly every day about whatever inspires me!  So, real time I got out of bed?  8:45 a.m.  Not bad for a Saturday.  But let’s talk about what success is going to look like for a wannabe blogger–I was kidding about the pro blogger thing!–going from three posts in three months to a disciplined post per day for the entire month of May…

Discipline is an ugly word. Is self-control ever something we anticipate?  Well, maybe…it takes all kinds.  But overall, let’s be honest, there’s no real way to soften it.  Under the umbrella of discipline are things like:

  • Focus:  Another word that hurts.
  • Preparation/Planning:  Doesn’t have to result in cold sweats.
  • Follow-through:  Not so bad because it kinda’ feels good.

So, today I look ahead…at least as far as tomorrow.  Enjoy Saturday! See you Sunday for Day 2.


4 Responses to “Discipline is an ugly word”

  1. 15berry May 1, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Discipline isn’t an ugly word. It’s a word that should be feared and send chills down your spine. Lol just kidding. I like your rhyme even if it was coincidental. “post per day for the entire month of May” Well, I thought it was cool…..

    • heatherfrendo May 1, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      Hi 15berry,

      Ha! Maybe I CAN write poetry after all! Thanks for stopping by Thrifty Knee Socks!

      ~Heather

  2. janudlock May 2, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Congrats on joining. I just joined also. But I still need to delete an old blog on the above link.

    Discipline is good – I needed to join for the same reason. Come and visit.
    IMP3RfeCt MOM at janudlock.com

    Yeah for you!

    • heatherfrendo May 2, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

      Hi Jan,

      Thank you! And Yeah for you also!

      take care,
      Heather

Leave a Reply

